An international bank account in Switzerland is easy to describe and surprisingly hard to price. On paper you get a Swiss IBAN, a handful of currencies and a second jurisdiction for your money. In practice, the bill depends on where you live, which bank books the account and how your payments travel, and hardly any of that appears on the bank’s home page.
This guide is about that practical side: how a Swiss account works for cross-border payments, what it costs once you live outside Switzerland, and how to choose the bank that fits the job. We read the 2025 and 2026 price lists of 11 Swiss banks to build the fee index below. If your first question is whether a bank will take you at all, our guide for non-residents answers that; this page picks up where it leaves off.
CHF 168–480
What 11 Swiss banks charge a year just because you live abroad
CHF 3,960
UBS Wealth Management’s yearly charge for clients abroad below CHF 500,000
CHF 100,000
Cash protection per client per bank, whatever your residence or currency
CHF 10.1 trn
Client assets managed by banks in Switzerland in mid-2026, a record
In brief: an international bank account in Switzerland in 2026
- A Swiss account does the international job well: a Swiss IBAN, sub-accounts in many currencies, access to SEPA and SWIFT and a second legal system for your money.
- Living abroad costs extra. Nearly every bank we checked adds a surcharge of CHF 25 to 40 a month; some waive it from CHF 100,000, while PostFinance, ZKB and Valiant never do.
- Euro payments work through SEPA, but the EU rules that protect EU accounts from IBAN discrimination and price differences do not cover a Swiss IBAN.
- Which legal entity books your account matters as much as the brand. A Swiss name can come with a Luxembourg IBAN and EU deposit insurance.
- For many people the best set-up is two accounts: a home account for local life and a Swiss account for currencies, custody and diversification.
What a Swiss international bank account actually gives you
You will not find an “international bank account” in a Swiss price list. The phrase describes a job, not a product: hold money in more than one currency, send and receive cross-border payments without friction, and keep part of your wealth in a jurisdiction other than your own. Swiss banks cover that job with four kinds of account.
- A private account with a Swiss IBAN (CH followed by 19 digits), usually in francs with sub-accounts in euros, dollars, pounds and other currencies, plus a debit card.
- A custody account for shares, bonds and funds. This is where Swiss banks earn their keep, and where most of the legal protection lies.
- A private banking relationship, which adds a relationship manager, advisory or discretionary mandates and Lombard loans against your portfolio. For clients abroad it usually starts at CHF 500,000 to CHF 1 million.
- A company account for a Swiss or foreign business, which goes through its own review; our guide to the Swiss business bank account covers it.
Switzerland remains a natural home for this. Banks here managed a record CHF 10,119.5 billion of client assets by mid-2026, according to the Swiss Bankers Association. The country also books about $2.9 trillion of cross-border private wealth, level with Hong Kong at the top of BCG’s 2026 ranking.
How payments really work from a Swiss international bank account
SEPA works, but the EU’s protections stop at the border
Swiss banks take part in the European payment schemes, so euro transfers from a Swiss account travel as SEPA payments. The rules around those schemes are another matter. SIX, which runs the Swiss payment system, notes that EU price rules apply only to payments within or between EU and EEA countries. Your Swiss bank can therefore charge for a euro transfer that might cost nothing at home.
The bigger surprise is IBAN discrimination. EU law stops a German employer, for example, from refusing to pay into an account because it sits in another EU or EEA country. According to the Dutch central bank, that protection covers EU and EEA accounts only, so a Swiss IBAN falls outside it. Most payers accept Swiss IBANs anyway, but some employers, utilities and public bodies in the EU will not. If your income or bills are in the EU, keep an EU account alongside the Swiss one.
Currencies, SWIFT and the booking centre
Dollars, pounds and other non-euro currencies still move over SWIFT, often with a fee at both ends and sometimes an intermediary bank in between. Currency conversion is where the real margin usually hides, because it rarely appears as a separate line. Before you choose, ask for the bank’s FX spread on your main currency pairs and its charge for incoming and outgoing SWIFT payments. Our notes on rejected SWIFT payments and the new SWIFT address rule explain two traps that catch international clients.
Also ask which legal entity will hold the account. Some Swiss brands book clients from abroad with an EU subsidiary: Swissquote, for instance, also runs Swissquote Bank Europe in Luxembourg, which is registered with the Bank of Lithuania to serve EU clients across borders. That can be a perfectly good account, but it comes with a Luxembourg IBAN, Luxembourg law and EU deposit insurance rather than Swiss.
Franc payments inside Switzerland, meanwhile, are getting faster. Since August 2024, banks handling more than 95% of Swiss customer payments can receive instant payments, and the rest must follow by the end of 2026. Europe’s new name checks on euro transfers add a separate wrinkle, which our note on verification of payee covers.
What an international bank account in Switzerland costs when you live abroad
Almost every Swiss bank adds a surcharge for clients domiciled outside Switzerland. It pays for the extra compliance work that cross-border clients create: foreign regulation, tax reporting and enhanced due diligence. We took every figure below from the bank’s own current price list.
Nationwide banks: the 2026 surcharge for clients who live abroad
| Bank | Surcharge for clients abroad | Waived when | New accounts for people abroad? | Price list |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UBS | CHF 30 a month | Assets above CHF 250,000; residents of Germany, France, Italy or Austria paying in a salary of CHF 500+ a month | The standard private account needs Swiss residence | Sept 2026 |
| UBS Wealth Management | CHF 330 a month, replacing the CHF 30 | Assets above CHF 500,000 | Through a relationship manager | Sept 2026 |
| PostFinance | CHF 25 a month per payment account | Never, whatever your assets | Yes, for a limited range of products | Web page |
| Raiffeisen | CHF 240 to 480 a year, set by each local bank | No waiver listed | Online opening needs Swiss tax residence | Jan 2026 |
| Migros Bank | CHF 30 a month (neighbouring countries) or CHF 40 (elsewhere) | Neighbouring-country clients with CHF 100,000+ or a mortgage pay CHF 5 | Not stated | June 2026 |
| Bank Cler | CHF 20 a month | More than CHF 100,000 held at all times | Not stated | April 2025 |
| Valiant | CHF 40 a month | No waiver listed | Not stated | June 2026 |
Cantonal banks: the same charge, different waivers
These cantonally owned banks serve their region first, but most still price clients abroad, often because they bank Swiss nationals who have moved away.
Cantonal banks: the 2026 surcharge for clients who live abroad
| Bank | Surcharge for clients abroad | Waived when | New accounts for people abroad? | Price list |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zürcher Kantonalbank | CHF 90 a quarter per client | No waiver listed | Yes for Swiss nationals abroad, with no minimum | March 2026 |
| BCGE | CHF 14 a month (neighbouring countries and Liechtenstein) or CHF 18 (elsewhere) | Mandates, mortgages, clients up to 25 | Not stated for branch opening | Jan 2026 |
| BCV | CHF 30 a month per relationship | Swiss nationals with more than CHF 50,000; cross-border commuters | Says it does not target clients abroad | July 2026 |
| Basler Kantonalbank | CHF 25 a month | CHF 100,000+ in securities, a mortgage, or age under 25 | Commuter packages and a desk for private clients abroad | Web page |
| Luzerner Kantonalbank | CHF 35 a month | Total assets from CHF 100,000 | Private banking for clients with ties to Central Switzerland | Aug 2026 |
“Not stated” means the bank publishes a price for clients abroad but we found no statement that it opens new accounts for them. Units differ: PostFinance charges per payment account, ZKB per client, BCV and Bank Cler per relationship.
What the fee index shows
Three things stand out. First, the typical charge is CHF 30 a month, or CHF 360 a year, which is more than many Swiss residents pay for their whole account. Second, the waivers cluster around CHF 100,000, so a client just below that line pays the most relative to the balance. Third, UBS prices smaller international relationships out on purpose: below CHF 500,000, a Wealth Management client abroad pays CHF 3,960 a year before any advisory or custody fee.
Online banks work differently. Swissquote’s Swiss entity asks non-residents for a first deposit of EUR 500 from the euro area or CHF 500 from elsewhere, and its help pages list no surcharge for living abroad. Dukascopy lists 24 currencies but can charge up to 1% on transfers for clients outside the EU, the Schengen area and the UK.
Run the numbers for your situation
What 12 Swiss accounts would charge you for living abroad
Set your situation and the chart re-sorts. Figures are the surcharge for clients domiciled outside Switzerland, taken from each bank’s 2025–2026 price list. They come on top of normal account, card and transaction fees.
Sources: official price lists of each bank, read on 27 September 2026 (links in the tables above). PostFinance charges per payment account, ZKB CHF 90 per quarter per client, BCV and Bank Cler per relationship; Raiffeisen fees are set by each local bank; the Basler Kantonalbank asset waiver applies to securities. Compiled by Easy Global Banking.
The costs the price list doesn’t show
The surcharge is only the visible part of the bill. Budget for these as well:
- foreign-exchange margins on every conversion;
- SWIFT fees on non-euro transfers, often charged by both the sending and the receiving bank;
- custody fees on securities, typically 0.1% to 0.5% a year;
- Swiss transfer stamp duty of 0.15% on Swiss and 0.30% on foreign securities, split between buyer and seller;
- 35% Swiss withholding tax on Swiss dividends and on Swiss bank interest above CHF 200 a year, partly reclaimable under your tax treaty;
- higher fees for non-residents at some online banks, such as Swissquote’s annual tax statement.
Our breakdown of Swiss bank fees for private clients looks at the custody and mandate side of the bill in more depth.
How where you live changes the price and the paperwork
Your residence decides which foreign rules a Swiss bank must follow when it serves you, and those rules feed straight into price, paperwork and the products on offer. The table sums up what changes for an international account; our country-by-country overview deals with eligibility itself.
What changes for an international account, by country of residence
| Where you live | What changes in 2026 |
|---|---|
| Germany, France, Italy, Austria | Lower surcharges at some banks (BCGE, Migros Bank); cross-border commuters are often exempt. From 11 January 2027, CRD VI limits how Swiss banks offer deposits and loans in the EU |
| Other EU and EEA countries | The same CRD VI change; relationships built around custody and investment services are least affected |
| United Kingdom | Berne Financial Services Agreement in force since 1 January 2026, for professional and high-net-worth clients |
| United States, and US citizens anywhere | FATCA reporting and a W-9; Switzerland will move to a Model 1 agreement no earlier than 1 January 2029. See our guide for US clients |
| Russia and Belarus | Deposits capped at CHF 100,000 per bank for nationals and residents, unless you hold a Swiss or EEA residence permit |
| Everywhere else | No specific restriction; expect detailed source-of-wealth checks and the standard surcharge |
Sources are listed at the end of this article.
The two rules that catch people out
For EU residents, the change to watch is Article 21c of the EU’s CRD VI. From 11 January 2027 a non-EU bank that takes deposits from, or lends to, clients in an EU state needs a licensed local branch or subsidiary, unless the client came to the bank on their own initiative, the service is a MiFID investment service, or the contract predates 11 July 2026. Our analysis for Baltic investors works through the consequences for one group of EU residents.
For Russian and Belarusian clients, the detail matters. SECO’s guidance exempts Swiss and EEA nationals and holders of a Swiss or EEA residence permit from the CHF 100,000 cap, and securities held in custody are not deposits. A UK, UAE or Turkish permit does not lift it.
Where the money sits, and how it is protected
Cash is protected up to CHF 100,000 per client per bank. Swiss deposit insurance, run by esisuisse, covers clients who live abroad and deposits in foreign currencies. Member banks stand behind the system with up to CHF 8.1 billion. Payouts currently take several weeks; a seven-working-day target applies from 2028. Above CHF 100,000 you are an ordinary unsecured creditor, which is why large cash balances belong across several banks.
Securities are yours, not the bank’s. Shares, bonds and funds in a Swiss custody account are separated from the bank’s estate in a failure and handed back to you, although the bank can keep a lien for anything you owe it.
The licence behind the app matters. Providers with a FINMA fintech licence, such as Yapeal, are not covered by Swiss deposit insurance, and Neon is not a bank at all; its clients’ money sits at Hypothekarbank Lenzburg. Our guide to Swiss deposit insurance looks at what happened to FlowBank’s clients, and our list of Swiss bank credit ratings shows how strong each institution is.
How to choose a Swiss bank for an international bank account
- Where will the account be booked? The legal entity decides the law, the IBAN and the deposit insurance, whatever the brand on the app.
- What will the surcharge cost you, and can you clear the waiver? A bank that waives its fee at CHF 100,000 can be cheaper than one with a lower fee it never waives.
- Which currencies and payments do you need? Euro salaries and bills are easier with an EU account; dollars, pounds, francs and investments are where a Swiss account shines.
- Do you need a person or an app? A relationship manager rarely comes below CHF 500,000 for clients abroad. Online banks give you access without advice.
- Will the bank still want you in two years? Ask about its policy for your country of residence. Banks do exit markets and raise minimums: in December 2025 Julius Baer told Swiss clients below about CHF 1 million to add funds or go elsewhere.
Once you have a shortlist, the opening process itself is covered in our guides to opening an account from abroad and the documents banks ask for.
Try the set-up planner
Answer four questions to see which structure fits, what to budget for and which rules apply to you.
Which international set-up fits you?
Four questions. Nothing is sent anywhere. The answer suggests how to structure your accounts and what to budget for; it is not an approval from any bank.
When a Swiss account is the wrong international account
For some needs, the honest answer is somewhere else. A Swiss account is usually not the best fit if:
- you mainly want to receive and spend several currencies cheaply. An EU e-money account costs less, although its money is safeguarded rather than covered by deposit insurance;
- your salary and bills are in the EU. An EU account avoids the IBAN problem and falls under EU price rules;
- you would hold less than CHF 100,000 and have no Swiss ties. A CHF 360 surcharge is 0.36% a year on CHF 100,000, and far more on smaller balances;
- you want privacy from your own tax office. Switzerland reports under the Common Reporting Standard, as our CRS guide explains;
- you want a return on cash. The Swiss National Bank’s policy rate is 0%, and franc deposits pay little or nothing.
If you live in Switzerland and want a no-fee everyday account instead, our guide to the free international bank account compares the neobanks built for residents.
Questions about using an international bank account in Switzerland
What is an international bank account in Switzerland?
It is not a separate product. It usually means a Swiss private account with a Swiss IBAN and sub-accounts in several currencies, often combined with a custody account for investments, used for cross-border payments and to hold part of your wealth outside your home country.
How much does an international bank account in Switzerland cost if I live abroad?
On top of normal fees, most banks charge clients abroad a surcharge. The 11 banks we checked charge between CHF 168 and CHF 480 a year, and UBS Wealth Management charges CHF 3,960 a year below CHF 500,000 in assets.
Can my employer in the EU pay my salary into a Swiss IBAN?
Usually, yes, but it is not guaranteed. The EU ban on IBAN discrimination protects EU and EEA accounts only, so an EU employer, utility or public body may refuse a Swiss IBAN without breaking the rule.
Are euro transfers from a Swiss account free?
Not necessarily. Swiss banks use SEPA for euro transfers, but EU price rules apply only within the EU and EEA, so your Swiss bank can charge for a transfer that would be free from an EU account.
Which currencies can a Swiss international account hold?
Most banks offer sub-accounts in francs, euros, dollars and pounds, and many more on request. Online banks go further: Dukascopy lists 24 currencies, and Swissquote’s Luxembourg entity offers more than 20.
Is money in a Swiss international bank account protected?
Cash is protected up to CHF 100,000 per client per bank by esisuisse, including for clients abroad and foreign-currency deposits. Securities in custody remain your property if the bank fails. Fintech-licensed providers are not covered.
Is a Swiss account better than a multi-currency e-money account?
For spending and receiving money cheaply, an e-money account is often better. For custody of investments, deposit insurance, Lombard lending and a second jurisdiction, a Swiss bank account does more.
How we built the fee index
We read each bank’s current price list or fee page on 27 September 2026 and recorded the surcharge for private clients domiciled outside Switzerland, the conditions for waiving it and any statement about opening accounts for people abroad. Where a bank sets fees locally, as Raiffeisen does, we show the range we found. The UBS figures come from its September 2026 price list. Surcharges exclude standard account, card, transaction and custody fees. Prices change, so check the linked document before you decide.
You are welcome to cite the fee index and calculator in your own work, with a link to this page as the source.
Sources
- UBS: services and prices, September 2026
- PostFinance: banking packages and clients abroad
- Zürcher Kantonalbank: price overview for private clients
- Raiffeisen Zürich: service prices for private clients, 2026
- Migros Bank: price brochure
- Bank Cler: general charges and fees
- BCGE: tariffs and payment conditions
- BCV: tariff brochure
- Basler Kantonalbank: conditions and interest rates
- Luzerner Kantonalbank: service prices for private clients
- Valiant: prices and services
- Swiss Bankers Association: Banking Barometer 2026
- BCG: Global Wealth Report 2026
- SIX: SEPA and Switzerland
- De Nederlandsche Bank: SEPA and IBAN discrimination
- esisuisse: deposit insurance FAQ
- FCA: Berne Financial Services Agreement
- Grant Thornton: FATCA agreement moves to Model 1
- Loyens & Loeff: new rules for Swiss banks serving EU customers under CRD VI
- EY: the Berne Financial Services Agreement is now live
- SECO: FAQ on the Ukraine ordinance, status 30 June 2026
- White & Case: Switzerland reinforces its sanctions against Belarus
- SWI swissinfo.ch: Julius Baer tells smaller clients to add funds or go
- Provider terms and FAQs: Neon, Yapeal, Swissquote, Dukascopy fees
This article is general information, not legal, tax or investment advice. Bank prices, eligibility rules and regulations change, and your own circumstances decide what applies to you. Check the current terms with the bank and take professional advice before acting.




